The Board regulates the rates and service of one investor-owned water utility, Iowa-American Water Company (IAW). The company serves more than 54,000 water customers in its Davenport and Clinton districts. IAW also provides service to the town of Dixon, Iowa.

The Board does not regulate municipally owned waterworks or rural water districts.  Governance of municipal utilities and rural water districts varies from one community to another. Generally, these water utilities are governed by a Board of Trustees or the local city council/county board of supervisors.  Customers unable to resolve issues with the staff of a municipal or rural water utility should escalate the complaint to the governing body for that water utility.

SF 2221 was signed by the Governor on March 23, 2016, making the Board responsible for regulation of private entities that furnish sanitary sewage or storm water drainage disposal. Currently there are no private entities providing these services in Iowa.