Board Members

Board Members


Geri D. Huser, Chair

Chair Geri HuserGeri D. Huser was appointed to the Iowa Utilities Board on May 1, 2015, for a six year term ending on April 30, 2021.  Governor Branstad also appointed Geri as Chair where she serves as the administrative head of the Board. 

She previously was Director of Iowa Title Guaranty, Iowa's real estate insurance provider.  As an attorney Geri practices in real estate, business, municipal law and estate planning.  She is also a small business owner in Iowa.  She served in the Iowa Legislature and on the Altoona City Council for a combined total of 20 years.





Elizabeth (Libby) S. Jacobs, Board Member

Board Member Libby JacobsLibby Jacobs began serving on the Iowa Utilities Board on May 1, 2011. She was appointed by Governor Terry Branstad to fill a term that runs through April 30, 2017. Additionally, Jacobs served as Chair of the Board from May 1, 2011 to April 30, 2015.

Jacobs is a National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) member and serves as Co-Vice Chair of NARUC’s Committee on Electricity; on the Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal; and the Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation. Jacobs serves as Immediate Past President of the Organization of MISO States (OMS) and is a member of the OMS Executive Committee. She is a voting member on the Eastern Interconnection States Planning Council (EISPC). Jacobs serves on the advisory council of the Center for Public Utilities (CPU) at New Mexico State University, the advisory committee of the Critical Consumer Issues Forum (CCIF) and the advisory board of the Financial Research Institute (FRI). She is also a member of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference (MARC) and the Southwest Power Plan (SPP) Regional State Committee.

Prior to joining the Iowa Utilities Board, Jacobs was president of The Jacobs Group, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in strategic planning, board development, community outreach, and fund development.  Previously, she was Director of Community Relations for the Principal Financial Group.  In addition, Jacobs’ career includes professional and management-level positions in the telecommunications and non-profit industries.

Jacobs served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1994 to 2008. She was elected by her peers to serve as Majority Whip for seven years. Jacobs also sat on the Commerce, State Government, and Appropriations Committees.

Jacobs has been recognized with several honors, including the 2008 West Des Moines Citizen of the Year, 2008 Drake University Outstanding Master of Public Administration Alumnus Award, 2008 Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute Business Leadership Award, 2005 Iowa Grocers Association Legislative Leadership Award, and the 2001 Des Moines Business Record Woman of Influence.

Jacobs earned her Bachelor of Arts degree “With Distinction” in political science from the University of Nebraska—Lincoln and a Master’s of Public Administration degree from Drake University. She and her husband, Steve, reside in West Des Moines and have two adult daughters.


Nick Wagner, Board Member

Board Member Nick WagnerNick Wagner officially began serving as a member of the Iowa Utilities Board on May 24, 2013, appointed by Governor Terry Branstad to fill a term ending on April 30, 2019.

On March 28, 2016, Board member Wagner was appointed to the Board of Directors of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). His board term will end October 31, 2018.  Wagner also serves on the NARUC Committee on Gas, is co-chair of the Washington Action Program, and is co-vice chair of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure. He serves on the Board of Directors and as treasurer for Smart Grid Interoperability Panel 2.0 (SGIP). Wagner is also treasurer of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference (MARC) and treasurer of the Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC).

Prior to joining the Board, Wagner was the Director of Quality Management for the ESCO Group in Marion, Iowa. His professional and management duties at ESCO Group included project execution in industrial automation including standby and emergency diesel generator control, facility energy and efficiency audits, and building control.

Wagner served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 2008 to 2012 as ranking member and chair of the Local Government Committee and as vice chair of the Appropriations Committee. Wagner also sat on the Administration and Regulation Budget Sub-Committee, Commerce, Transportation, and Ways and Means Committees.

Wagner previously served four years as an at-large elected member of the Marion City Council.

Wagner received his Bachelor of Science degree in biomedical engineering in 1996 and a Master’s of Science degree in electrical engineering in 1998, both from the University of Iowa. He and his wife, Mandie, reside in Marion and have a daughter and son.

Any communications with individual members of the Iowa Utilities Board on material issues in contested cases pending before the Board may constitute a prohibited ex parte communication, Iowa Code section 17A.17.  If you wish to comment on the record on a pending matter, please do not contact individual Board members but instead submit your comments to the Board’s Electronic Filing System, citing the docket number, and clicking on the “Submit Filing” tab and following all instructions to submit filing as a guest.  If you have a complaint or inquiry about a utility, please contact Customer Service staff toll-free, 877-565-4450 or by e-mail at