The Eastern Interconnection States Planning Council


The Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC) is comprised of representatives from Governors' Offices, State Regulatory Commissions, and State Energy Offices from 39 States, the District of Columbia, the city of New Orleans, and 6 Canadian Provinces located within the Eastern Interconnection (EI) electric transmission grid and convenes regularly for the purpose of studying transmission planning.

This project is supported by funding from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).  With expertise from the states and DOE National Laboratories, EISPC produces studies, white papers and tools. EISPC also works with the Eastern Interconnection Planning Collaborative (EIPC), whose members are planning authorities, to provide policy input into transmission scenario build-outs. 

EISPC studies and white papers are available at and The reports are subcontracted to research institutions, consulting firms, and non-profit organizations, and are reviewed by the EISPC representatives, National Laboratories, and other stakeholders. 

The EISPC Energy Zones (EZ) Mapping Tool is a web-based GIS tool used to locate areas with high suitability for clean power generation in the U.S. portion of the Eastern Interconnection. The EZ Mapping Tool includes 9 clean (low- or no-carbon) energy resource categories.  The EZ Mapping Tool contains an extensive GIS mapping library (of energy resource, electrical transmission, oil and gas pipeline, protected lands, habitat and other related information). The website contains a searchable energy policy and regulations database.

For more information, please visit and