Board Members

Geri D. Huser, Chair

Geri D. Huser was appointed to the Iowa Utilities Board on May 1, 2015, by Gov. Terry Branstad, who also appointed her as Chair, which means she serves as the administrative head of the agency. Huser was reappointed by Gov. Kim Reynolds to a two-year term as Chair through April 30, 2023, and a six-year Board term ending April 30, 2027.  

She previously was Director of Iowa Title Guaranty, Iowa's real estate insurance provider. As an attorney, Geri practices in real estate, business, municipal law, and estate planning. She is also a small business owner in Iowa. She served in the Iowa Legislature and on the Altoona City Council for a combined total of 20 years.


Richard W. Lozier, Jr., Board Member

Richard Lozier was appointed to the Iowa Utilities Board and began his service on May 1, 2017, for a term that runs through April 30, 2023. Prior to joining the Board, he was a member of the Belin McCormick law firm in Des Moines for more than 20 years. During much of that time, a major component of his practice involved regulated utilities, including telecommunications, wind energy development, electric transmission, water, and gas and oil pipelines.

While in private practice he was president of the Polk County Bar Association and served on the Board of Governors of the Iowa State Bar Association. He was also president of the Rotary Club of Des Moines and the Des Moines YMCA Camp Board of Managers, as well as serving on the Metro YMCA Board of Directors.

He attended Des Moines public schools and received his Bachelor of Arts degree in American History from the University of Iowa and his Juris Doctor from the University of Iowa College of Law. He also attended a summer law program at Exeter University in Exeter, England.  

After graduating from law school, he was a Special Agent for the Federal Bureau of Investigation in Albuquerque, N.M. and Los Angeles, Calif., before returning to Des Moines to practice law. He practiced with the Grant, Lozier & Sarcone firm in Des Moines before joining the Belin McCormick firm.

He resides in Des Moines with his wife, Kaye. They have five adult children and ten grandchildren.

Joshua J. Byrnes, Board Member

Joshua J. Byrnes was appointed to the Iowa Utilities Board by Gov. Kim Reynolds on November 30, 2020, for a term that runs through April 30, 2025. 

Byrnes previously was General Manager of Osage Municipal Utilities and served six years in the Iowa House of Representatives, where he was Iowa House Transportation Chairman. He also had been appointed by Governor Reynolds to serve on the Iowa State Board of Education. He is a former CUSB Bank director and also has served on the Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities Board of Directors, American Public Power Associations DEED Board, and T&D World Executive Advisory Board.

He attended Riceville public schools and received his Bachelor of Arts degree in biology from Luther College in Decorah and his Master of Science degree in Educational Leadership from Winona State University in Minnesota. He also took PhD coursework at Iowa State University.

He and his wife reside in rural Mitchell County and raise cattle along with their three children.

Communications Reminder

Any communications with individual members of the Iowa Utilities Board on material issues in contested cases pending before the Board may constitute a prohibited ex parte communication per Iowa Code section 17A.17. If you wish to comment on the record on a pending matter, the comments must be filed in the docket. You can do that by submitting written comments, objections, or letters of support on this Comments and Objections Form, which also can be found in the IUB's electronic filing system (EFS). You can also submit written comments via EFS under the Submit tab. Select "Submit Filing" and "Submit Filing As Guest," then complete the form. Comments made directly to Board members will not be filed in a docket or become part of the record. If you have a complaint or inquiry about a utility, contact IUB Customer Service staff at 877-565-4450 or

Printed from the website on March 27, 2023 at 5:33am.